Scrap Yard Knife Company

I'm replacing my gear & need recommendations.

Posted By: Endeavour Morse

I'm replacing my gear & need recommendations. - 05/16/15 03:12 AM

Periodically I sell all of my gear and start over. I've been doing this for over 30 years, but during the last five or so it's only because I enjoy doing so.

The time has arrived so I'm selling my current set ups and looking for new. As such, I'd like a few recommendations:

LED HEADLAMP. I'd prefer an AA battery model for compatibility with other kit. Currently I have Coleman AAA.

SMALL PACK CARRIED KNIFE SHARPENER: I'm looking for an effective tool to maintain my blades in the field. Small and light are critical.

SMALL LED AA BATTERY FLASHLIGHT: I currently have a Maratac Rev2. Is there something better?

WOOBIE: I can't afford a $300 Kifaru. What are my other options? A super compact sleeping bag would be acceptable too.

3 PC STAINLESS MESS KIT: I currently have East German 3pc kits, but would like stainless over aluminum.

I have all of my new field gear ordered (most has already been delivered). Just need some help with the above.

Posted By: Mastiff

Re: I'm replacing my gear & need recommendations. - 05/16/15 03:46 AM

I have a few different types of headlamps but they all have one thing in common, they have a strap the goes over the top of the head. I like the extra security that strap offers. I remember in the military, I used the crap out of the red lens filter to save my night vision. I should probably find some to fit each of my headlamps, just in case...

For a EDC flashlight, I love the Fenix PD35. It a bit large, but man can it light up the area. VERY happy with this lighting option.

Would like to see a list of the field gear you already have/ordered.
Posted By: MonkeyBomb

Re: I'm replacing my gear & need recommendations. - 05/16/15 03:50 AM

A couple of ideas for an enhanced wobbie

http://www.wiggys.com/clothing-outerwear/insulated-poncho/

And

From Hill people gear