Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Learning how to sharpen #261132 01/21/09 02:53 PM
N
Newbie_nick Offline OP
Pooch
OP Offline
Pooch
N
Like my name suggests, I'm really a newbie when it comes to knives. Sure, I've owned/used knives since I was in grade school, but my experience level seems to be fairly low compared to most on here and other knife boards. When my dad taught me how to sharpen knives when I was about 10, he taught me to do a flat grind on a soft Arkansas stone, and for the most part, my blades have always done what I've needed. Now that I've been reading posts here and on other boards, I'm learning about convex grind and Scandi grind (among others), and I'm not sure where I might go to learn about these.

After all that, here are my questions:
1) What online resources can you point me to, so I can learn about the different grinds and what pros/cons each have?
2) What is the best way to learn each sharpening method? I'd love to learn 1st hand from somebody that knows what they're doing, but I doubt whether anybody has "knife sharpening symposiums"!

Thanks for the input, gang. I'm just trying to learn...

Nick

Re: Learning how to sharpen [Re: Newbie_nick] #261133 01/21/09 03:21 PM
el clintor Offline
Junk Yard Dog
Junk Yard Dog
I would like to know this as well...

JYD #72 "Long live the brotherhood of the Yard!"
Re: Learning how to sharpen [Re: el clintor] #261134 01/21/09 03:33 PM
imaginefj Offline
Junk Yard Dog
Junk Yard Dog
Sharpening is not easy, my EZE Sharp helps alot(http://www.bronksknifeworks.com/vcom/index.php?cPath=16_25&osCsid=2cdaedaba9ba60f72834da5fb302ea4f)! Next I plan on a good belt sander though.

Join the NRA JYD #69 If a 6 turned out to be 9 Join the NRA
Re: Learning how to sharpen [Re: Newbie_nick] #261135 01/21/09 03:53 PM
Horn Dog Offline
Junk Yard Dog
Junk Yard Dog