header

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#363699 - 08/22/09 09:42 PM Re: Chop-Off: Waki vs Northwind [Re: RN]
Horn Dog Offline
Junk Yard Dog

Loc: Georgia
The Waki is much heavier, so compared to the Northwind, it is slower in the hand. A lot of it has to do with technique, though. The long handle on the Waki allows for different grips. Gripped up near the front, the heavy handle acts as a counterweight, allowing for fast snap cuts and such. It also can be used to increase reach in a thrust or slash. I admit, I am not an expert with swords and I am still learning how to handle the Waki. I'm sure that someone more proficient with such weapons could do better than I can. The Northwind is much like a machete, and I am very familiar with using those.

#363700 - 08/22/09 10:09 PM Re: Chop-Off: Waki vs Northwind [Re: Horn Dog]
reconseed Offline
Junk Yard Dog

Loc: Khost, Afghanistan
Id take the Waki over the Northwind. SR101 is a great steel and ive always wanted one of these.
JYD #59 1LT Clark Tucker OD, Platoon LDR US Army

#363701 - 08/22/09 10:12 PM Re: Chop-Off: Waki vs Northwind [Re: reconseed]
Horn Dog Offline
Junk Yard Dog

Quote:

Id take the Waki over the Northwind. SR101 is a great steel and ive always wanted one of these.

So would I in hand-to-hand combat against zombies or whatever. I can throw it like a spear, or use both hands for more power in a zombie decapitation slash.

Edited by Horn Dog (08/22/09 10:14 PM)

#363702 - 08/22/09 11:40 PM Re: Chop-Off: Waki vs Northwind [Re: Horn Dog]
tedwca Offline
Junk Yard Dog

Loc: Northern California
LOL, the Northwind is one of the few blades I have that scare me. One moment of inattention can be really bad with it. At least the Waki and AK have finger guards, but there is something so sexy about the curves of the Northwind. It is something you have to see in person as it does not come across in photos very well.

#363703 - 08/23/09 01:05 AM Re: Chop-Off: Waki vs Northwind [Re: tedwca]
KnifeGuy Offline